Skip to content

Asian Cabbage Salad

13 September 2009

Per usual I went to make something today and couldn’t find a recipe I liked. I checked online and in my cookbooks and there just wasn’t one that had all of the ingredients I wanted. This of course led to me just making it up myself.

For small group today I made Asian Cabbage Salad.

Mix These Items Together

1 Head of Red Cabbage Chopped Roughly

2 Shredded Carrots

2 Packages of Ramen Noodles Crushed

1 Bunch of Green Onion Chopped

2 Tablespoons Sunflower seeds (almonds, pine nuts whatever  is around)

Whisk Together and Toss with Salad

1 Cup Canola Oil

1/3 Cup Sugar (Could be decreased some, but sweetness is needed to balance out the cabbage.)

1/3 Cup White Vinegar

1 Tablespoon Soy Sauce (Low Sodium)

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

1/4 Teaspoon Pepper

This salad has to sit a bit for the flavors to mingle together. I’m guessing if you left out the Ramen and cooked all of this up, it would be a delicious egg roll filing.

All of these items ended up looking like this once they were tossed together.

Asian Cabbage Salad

I love all of the colors: purple, orange, green. This will be great by this afternoon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

