Skip to content

Crazy for Oats

13 September 2009

The last few weeks I have been on an oats kick. I can’t get enough of them it seems. I’ve been eating oatmeal for breakfast several times a week. We even had oatmeal when we went camping. Two weeks ago, I made Peanut Butter Oatmeal No-bakes. They are one of my favorite cookies, not to mention the fact that they are so quick and easy.

On Wednesday, I stopped at a farm that I pass everyday on the way home from school. I picked up a few veggies and some apples. I ate one apple on the way home, and it was so tart I could hardly finish it. Apparently, it’s a bit early for apples. One good thing about fruit though is whether it’s too ripe or not ripe enough you can bake with it.

Jeremy’s mom has given me tons of cook books. I love cookbooks especially ones that are filled with contributed recipes i.e. church cookbooks. These are always filled with kid tested mom approved recipes.

Tonight I used this cookbook Applehood and Motherpie.

I took my too tart apples and turned them into a delicious Apple Crisp, with of course an oatmeal topping.

Jeremy ate his with a few dallops of vanilla ice cream on the side.

I am slowly accepting that fall is coming. New England didn’t really get much a summer this time around, so I am really not ready for snow. Hopefully, it will be a mild winter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

