Skip to content

A Day of Great Eats

26 November 2009

Today has not been a typical Thanksgiving Day. My parents and little brothers, who live in Rhode Island, decided to drive down to NYC for the parade. Jeremy and I are driving down to RI tomorrow to eat. Even though we didn’t have the usual spread today,  there was plenty of great food.

First, I made egg, bacon, and cheese sandwiches on English muffins. I was starving this morning, because I got up and cleaned the house. (I am thankful to have a house to clean and dishes to wash).

Last week at the farmer’s market I picked up some leeks.  I mostly followed this recipe for Potato and Leek Soup.  I only used half a bulb of fennel because I am really not crazy about the anise flavor. The soup turned out great. I can’t wait for the leftovers.

For dinner, Jeremy really wanted to recreate a scene from his favorite Christmas movie. You guessed it, we went to a Chinese restaurant.  It was surprisingly not empty, but based on the 15 other places we called, it may be the only place open in a 30 mile radius.

When we got home, I popped the pie in the oven I had prepared earlier today. I love having frozen apples in the freezer.  I made this Apple Crumble Pie, but I used this Sweet Sugar Crust. This crust is AWESOME. It is like eating an apple pie on top of a Christmas Sugar cookie. So good.

Now in the oven is a pumpkin cheesecake to take to RI tomorrow. More on that if actually comes out well and tastes good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

