Skip to content

One Great Monday!

7 December 2009

Today was a great day. My students, for the most part, were all well behaved.  My peanut butter on  an English Muffin this morning was excellent and put some warmth in me, while I was scrapping off my windshield.  At lunch, my salad was amazing: baby spinach, green leaf lettuce, black beans, guac, salsa, chevre, and a piece of left over bacon from yesterday’s breakfast.

My secret Santa struck again and left me two more wonderful Bath and Body Works hand sanitizers. The Vanilla Bean Noel is really delightful. They also left some homemade chocolate covered peanut butter balls; I ate two and then shared the rest with my teammates.

After I got home, Jeremy and I headed out to find a Christmas tree. We went to a little place I drive by everyday. The true New Englanders running it were awesome. We were the only ones there. They cut a tree down for us and gave me all the extra greens for free to make a wreath with. They were really great, and were all obviously enjoying themselves and the fact that they had customers on a Monday. Traditionally, Jeremy and I go out to eat after we pick out a tree. Tonight was no different. We went to our favorite restaurant in town Riverworks. If you live in the Boston area, it’s a place worth driving to. I got a chicken quesadilla with broccoli (maybe this blog should be called how many ways can I eat broccoli), green pepper, and red onion: I ate half and saved the other half for tomorrow’s lunch.  Jeremy had a Kobe beef burger and french fries with truffle ketchup. I had never had truffle anything until tonight, and I may have fallen in love. I cannot describe what it tasted like, but it made my mouth happy.

Once we got home, we set up our tree, and now we’re watching Love Actually. This may be the best Monday ever.

Here are some of my favorite ornaments:

A handmade ornament from my long lost Texas friend

A great ornament that we got for our wedding from Bronner’s in Michigan

Antique ornaments from my Nana

What’s your favorite holiday tradition?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

