Skip to content

Walk 500 Miles . . .

7 December 2009

I turned over my shoes before my last run jog to find out that on one side they were basically bare. I am an over-pronator and have flat feet, which means after a bit my shoes look like this:

They say you should replace your running shoes every 300 – 500 miles. I’m guessing I haven’t gone 500 miles since I got my shoes; but if they’re worn like this, they should be replaced. In the past, when I was far less serious about my feet and knees, I would have kept using these shoes for at least a few more months. Now though, I value my feet.

When I played basketball all through high school and the beginning of college I always wore Nikes. Not any more.  I purchased my first pair of New Balance shoes last January, after talking to a physical therapist and having some knee trouble. If you have difficult feet like I do, New Balance is the brand for you.
Here are some things I really like about New Balance:

  1. They come in so many different sizes and widths. You have a much better chance of getting a really good fit. This is one of the only brands that I can find with wide width shoes.
  2. Their website is very specific about what each shoe does: stability, cushioning, motion control, etc.
  3. NB has a great return policy.
  4. Last, these shoes are made well but are also affordable. You can manage to buy a couple of pairs a year and not feel bad about it.

This post is in no way supported by New Balance. I just want to share the love. I’m an NB 769 girl. My new shoes are on the way. I can’t wait for them to get here.

I can definitely see the advantages of Nike Plus, even though I can’t wear them. What’s your favorite running shoe?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 December 2009 3:55 AM

    Sorry if I’ve commented this same thing somewhere before, but just in case this could help, here goes. You can increase your arches by taking a hand towel and spreading it out on the floor in front of you. Put your toes on the end closest to you and scrunch your toes, making the towel slowly inch toward you. One of my instructors at massage school was also a physical therapist and she told us about that. It makes the muscles on the bottom of your feet/back of your legs work in a different way than regular walking does, so it tones the muscles differently– increases your arches! Do that every day for several weeks in the morning and before you go to bed, and afterward stretch your calves.

    • cbrazas permalink*
      8 December 2009 8:05 AM

      Thanks Becka. That’s great information. I’m going to give it a try. I’ll have to look up some good new stretches. My hips have been really tight lately. I love all your tweets about Body Pump and working out. It’s great that you have a core group of people to work out with.

  2. 8 December 2009 3:39 PM

    Ooh, stretches! I just looked up pictures of a couple of my favorites, and found a site with a bunch of moves that would probably help you. Some of the images are sort of creepy, but the stretches are really good. They get your back, glutes, IT band (which can mess up your hip AND your knee), and your calf.

    http://www.rice.edu/~jenky/stretch.html

    • cbrazas permalink*
      8 December 2009 3:45 PM

      I didn’t even think about my IT band. I always think about that when I stretch my knees, but it would, duh, definitely affect my hip too. It’s good to know people in high places.

Leave a Reply

