Skip to content

Snow Day#1

9 December 2009

This morning I woke up at 4:45. I checked all of the places I should check to see if there was school. Usually, I get a call, but since I just got my new phone the school hasn’t been able to add my number to the automated call service. After I checked the web and saw no closings; I started getting ready for school. I got dressed, started the car, and made an English muffin with some peanut butter and then grabbed my coffee and ran out the door.  I knew the snow was supposed to start at 6, so I wanted to get a jump on my drive. I left almost 20 minutes early, which is really 40 minutes early because I usually leave 20 minutes late. Every morning, I listen to NPR/NHPR. I had driven less than a mile, when the announcer says, “Almost all schools in NH are closed.” This was a shock to me, as when I checked it said only 7 schools were closed. I pulled into a gas station and called Jeremy to have him re-check the internet. Sure enough, there was no school, so I turned around and came home. I am really glad that I didn’t make it all the way there.

I, of course, came home and went back to bed. The roads are horrible. I’m still hoping to get out to the gym.

Around 10:30, I walked into town to get bagels for me and my “wicked” pregnant friend Elizabeth. It was nice to get to hang out with her in the middle of the day. Walking through the snow was a lot of work. My awesome Columbia coat and EMS waterproof pants kept me dry and warm. In fact, I was so warm that I was sweating.

After I got back from Elizabeth’s, I was starving. I made this scramble: 1 egg and 1 egg white, black beans, green onions, garlic powder, and S&P and a side of last night’s leftover broccoli.

A little blurry, sorry.   It was very satisfying after being out in the crappy weather. I also had a cup of Comfort and Joy Tea. This is one of my favorite teas.

Did you get slammed with winter weather today?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

