Skip to content

Shepherd’s Pie ?

12 January 2010

Ok, I only sort of made Shepherd’s pie. I did follow the recipe, for the most part, I didn’t have marjoram or evaporated milk, so I made some substitutions.  This recipe came from Weight Watchers New Complete Cookbook.  I liked it overall, my fears were unnecessary, because Hey!this really was just Chicken Pot Pie with potatoes on top instead of biscuits.  This cookbook always uses margarine, which maybe that’s a WW thing. I’ve never been involved with WW, except for this cookbook. I don’t like the taste of margarine; I like butter and that’s what I used. The food tasted great.

 102_9590 

There were lots of veggies (carrots, spinach, corn, spring onions), which were covered in a light sauce or gravy. On top of these wonderfully colorful veggies, you were supposed to spread mashed potatoes. I did it, but I didn’t want to. It went from this beautiful color to something not worthy of being photographed. Using last nights chicken and potatoes made this dish much faster. I love cooking once and eating twice.

All day I’ve wanted pastry. Light Cooking for Two has a pseudo baklava recipe called Phyllo Honey Nut Squares.  Basically, you layer sheets of phyllo with a mixture of honey, spices and then crushed walnuts. AMAZING!

102_9594

I’m really glad this is all the recipe made. Jeremy and I each had two. If there had been more, I almost assuredly would have eaten more. I will definitely be making these again. I’m not really sure why they are called squares, but oh well.

Time for Biggest Loser and generating crap for work.

Leave a Reply

