Skip to content

Just a Few of my Favorite Things

16 January 2010

Cookbook week has kind of taken hit. I did really well for the first few days, but I just can’t be tied down. Last night Jeremy and I made homemade pizza for dinner. I think this counts because I did get the crust recipe out of cookbook. Tonight however, well I was definitely inspired by The Joy of Cooking

When I looked at the Joy of Cooking last week, I could have sworn there was a recipe for Chevre, Leek, and Tomato tart. Well turns out, I can’t read (unfortunate, since I teach English).  It seems there was a recipe for a leek tart and a recipe for Chevre and tomato tart, but none for Leek and Chevre, which are just two of the best tasting foods in the world. I really didn’t want to make a crust anyway. All week long, I’ve been waiting to taste leeks and Chevre together, and I was not to be deterred. Voila Broccoli, Leek, and Chevre Pie.

102_9606

Broccoli, Leek, and Chevre Pie 

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups Broccoli Florets
  • 3 Cups Leeks (light greens and dark greens, cut into 1/2 inch peices)
  • 1/4 Cup Olive Oil – Divided
  • 8 Ounces Chevre – Crumbled
  • 3 Large Eggs
  • 1/4 Cup Milk
  • 6 Sheets Phyllo Dough
  • Sea Salt
  • Pepper

Method:

Pre-heat oven to 350.

Add one – two tablespoons of Olive Oil to a sauté pan toss broccoli, leeks and a teaspoon of salt.

Cover the pan and stir occasionally for 5 minutes.

Remove pan from heat when leeks and broccoli have a soft bite.

In a bowl, beat eggs, milk, and 1 teaspoon of black pepper. 

With a brush cover the bottom of a 9×9 pan with olive oil.

Layer two half sheets of Phyllo dough, brush with olive oil.  Repeat twice.

Spread broccoli leek mixture over Phyllo.

Pour egg mixture over vegetables, making sure to fully cover.

Spread Chevre crumbles.

Finally, repeat Phyllo and olive oil layers, covering the final layer with olive oil.

Bake in the oven at 350 for 30 to 35 minutes, or until brown on top.

 

The hands on time for this was really maybe 15 minutes.

Enjoy. I’m off to make frosting and ice some cupcakes from How to be a Domestic Goddess.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    18 January 2010 10:15 AM

    that looks awesome! I have never ever cooked with leeks, but I need to.

    Hope you’re having a good day!!!

    • cbrazas permalink*
      18 January 2010 11:30 AM

      Leeks are so easy and give food so much flavor. I love them in potato soup.

Leave a Reply

