Skip to content

T.G.I.F., well almost

28 January 2010

Things at work have not gone well this week.  I really like to be able to control situations. Unfortunately right now the only thing I can control is my attitude and I’m not exactly excelling at that. It seems everything that is happening at work is totally out of my control. Biggest issues:

  1. My students aren’t attending school. The attendance average for all my classes today was less than 50%.  When this happens not only are they not learning, but I worry about the reasons they aren’t attending, which with my students could be grave. In addition, it will be a pain in the butt to get them caught up, whenever they choose to return. 
  2. Some of the policies or lack there of at my school are making me feel so frustrated. I work at a very traditional school, which I understand. But the lack of value they place in diversity makes me feel isolated and dare I say it discriminated against. I’m going to have to figure out someway to get around this. Alerting the newspaper doesn’t seem like the best idea, and  lately I’ve had this going through my head.

    (I heart That Thing You Do).

  3. Lastly, some of my co-workers drive me nuts. I wish they would go far, far away.

With all that said, this is the semester of English that I prefer teaching, and I am so thankful to have a job.  But a long week is a long week, and I really just wanted something warm and comforting for dinner. So when Jeremy suggested quesadillas, I was definitely on board. I knew the warm, melty cheese with veggies and black beans would at least make me forget if not remedy my problems.

102_9675

Between this and a good laugh at my Thursday night NBC line up, I’m hoping to get out of my funk.  I’m a bit concerned that I may be getting sick. Ugh. . .

One Comment leave one →
  1. 29 January 2010 9:35 AM

    I hope today is a better day!!!

Leave a Reply

