Skip to content

80 Years and Going Strong

25 February 2010

February 17 was my Nana’s 80th birthday.

My family in Virginia had a huge surprise party for her last weekend.  Jeremy and I flew into Richmond, got a rental car and waited for my brother and his gf to arrive. Then, the four of us, drove the 1.5 hours from Richmond to Charlottesville. Our rental car was a piece but the weather in VA couldn’t have been better. It was 50 degrees and sunny, which is way different from the weather we’ve seen in NH lately.

100_0429

All of my Nana’s kids were there, her brother, and two sisters were there plus a lot of there kids. Even her best friend from Florida came up. My Nana has 6 kids, 17 grand kids, and 4 great grand kids. The grands and great-grands alone filled up a lot of space at the party.  I think everyone had a great time.  There was tons of food, (Fried Chicken, Rolls, Mashed Potatoes w/Gravy, Mac & Cheese, Collard Greens, and Green Beans), welcome to VA. There were lots of people hanging out drinking tea and laughing, and cake which my cousin Tina made; yes I had to eat a piece and a half. So good!

100_0408 100_0410

 

Of course there were group pictures where it’s impossible to get everyone to look at the same camera.

 

100_0428 I’m holding my cousin Leroy’s baby. She was adorable and super sweet.

 100_0434My parents, brothers, Jeremy, and I  with Nana.

 

Saturday was great. Sunday we all went out to eat after church at a buffet, I know. Worst food consumption weekend ever. I tried to make some good choices, like eating huge salad, but there’s only so much you can do.

After lunch Jeremy, my brother, his gf and I drove back to Richmond.  Two long great days. . . Richmond post tomorrow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

