Skip to content

NHWIND2010 aka Wicked Windy

27 February 2010

WOW! The last few days have been an adventure. On Thursday night, New Hampshire got an enormous wind storm, plus rain of course. It had already been raining for most of the week, so there was really no place to put it.  NH is pretty much trashed right now; lots of roads are closed due to flooding, there was a huge fire, and there are trees down everywhere . This one is right around the corner, you can hardly even see the car underneath the tree.

treeincar

Friday morning there were 300,000 people without power. We were not to be excluded.  Power went out around midnight Friday morning and just came back about 30 minutes ago. Needless to say, the beef I brought for my bouef borgionne is no good. It seems most of everything in the freezer made it though.

Here are a few tips for surviving:

  1. Prepare, prepare, prepare. I was never a girl scout, but I think I would have made a good one.  When the lights started flickering on Thursday I went into action. I got all of our flashlights and our oil lantern ready. I took a quick shower and cranked up the heat.  Everything that could be charge was plugged in (except for my camera). I was thinking we’d only be without power for a few hours, otherwise I would have remembered to put the meat in the freezer.
  2. Have a Way to Get Information. My Blackberry rocked it during this storm. I was able to get lots of information and relay that to my friends who don’t have smart phones. If you don’t have a smart phone, and even if you do, you should have a radio with batteries.
  3. Stay in Bed. Really there’s nothing you can do anyway, so stay in bed and cuddle up with someone, do a little reading, or take a nap.
  4. Go out and Eat. Lastly, when all else fails find a place that’s open, go out, and enjoy a warm meal. We went to The Coat of Arms. Usually, I like this place, but my food was so greasy last night that I was less than pleased. I really should learn to send things back when they aren’t good.

People often make fun of me, because I am neurotic extremely cautious about being prepared.  I keep a blanket, and shovel in my car all winter and never leave home without a rain jacket in the summer. This time my cautiousness paid off.

Now I guess it’s time to clean the fridge.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

