Skip to content

Spinach and Artichoke Pasta Bake

30 March 2010

While flipping through my current issue of Real Simple, I saw a recipe for Cheesy Baked Pasta with Spinach and Artichokes (228 April). Their recipe topped out at 491 calories. This seemed like a lot to me, so I decided to see if I could do any better. Disclaimer – I hate wheat pasta, so I don’t use it. You could certainly make this even better by using wheat/whole grain pasta.

ziti spinach

Usually when I make a recipe and I want to know the calorie break down I use www.sparkrecipes.com. I highly suggest it.

Ingredients:

  • Parmesan Cheese, grated, 1 oz shredded
    Romano Cheese, 3 oz shredded
    Spaghetti/Marinara Sauce (tomato sauce), 4 cups
    Garlic, 3 cloves – Diced
    Onions, 1/4 cup diced 
    Red Pepper Flakes – 1 tablespoon
    Spinach, frozen, 1 package (10 oz) yields – defrosted
    Ricotta cheese, fat-free, 5 oz
    Extra Virgin Olive Oil, 2 tbsp
    Artichoke hearts canned, 14 oz  roughly chopped
    Pasta uncooked, 14 oz (I used lined ziti)

Process

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Start the water for the pasta – cook until Al Dente
  3. Sautee the olive oil, onion, and garlic
  4. Next add the drained spinach, artichokes and red pepper to the garlic and onion
  5. After everything is heated, add half the jar of sauce, stir
  6. When the pasta is done, spread half of the veggie mixture in the bottom of a pan. Next add a layer of pasta, and dollops of ricotta. Repeat.
  7. Cover the top layer with the extra sauce and the grated cheese.
  8. Heat in the oven 12 – 15 minutes or until cheese is browned.

The final calorie count was 365 that is 126 saved calories. I think I’ll take it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 March 2010 2:35 PM

    Oh my word, this sounds DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for sharing!

    • cbrazas permalink*
      30 March 2010 3:34 PM

      It’s a quick weeknight meal for sure. And it made a good lunch today.

Leave a Reply

